VIDEO: Chat Pile – Slaughterhouse

Chat Pile – Slaughterhouse
Chat Pile – Slaughterhouse


Chat Pile – Slaughterhouse

You could think of Oklahoma City’s Chat Pile as a grunge band that understands that the original meaning of the word “grunge” pretty much meant “filth.” Chat Pile makes a grimy, feverish form of noise-rock that calls back to the more transgressive ends of the ’90s underground. If you’ve ever enjoyed the work of Unsane or Cows or early Helmet, then these guys might be your jam.
In the past few years, Chat Pile has released a couple of EPs and made a name for itself. Last year, they dropped a split with fellow misanthropes Portrayal Of Guilt and covered Sepultura’s “Roots Bloody Roots.”
Today, they’ve announced that their full-length debut God’s Country is coming out this summer, and they’ve shared the unhinged, scuzzed-out opening track “Slaughterhouse.”
“Slaughterhouse” is a feverish riff-rocker with scream-howled lyrics about what it must be like to work in an industrialized death facility: “And all the blood!
All the blood! And the fuckin’ sound, man! You never forget their eyes!” Director Laine B’s video follows a woman who’s covered in blood and building crosses.
Check it out below.

01 “Slaughterhouse”
02 “Why”
03 “Pamela”
04 “Wicked Puppet Dance”
05 “Anywhere”
06 “Tropical Beaches, Inc.”
07 “The Mask”
08 “I Don’t Care If I Burn”
09 “grimace_smoking_weed.jpeg”
God’s Country is out 7/29 on The Flenser.

Throughout parts of the mid-western United States lie towering mounds of the waste residue from early 20th Century lead mining operations. Comprised of what is known as “chat,” these hills of toxic, metallic dust dot the countryside as if they were headstones for communities destroyed by industrialization such as Picher, Oklahoma.

These effigies would come to be the namesake for the Oklahoma-based band, Chat Pile, whose grotesque and pummeling brand of noise rock has managed to terrorize listeners worldwide in only a matter of months.

Intent on raising as much havoc as possible, Chat Pile was spawned from the bowels of the OKC underground music scene in February of 2019.

Consisting of Raygun Busch (vocals), Luther Manhole (Guitars), Stin (Bass), and Captain Ron (Drums), the quartet brings with them a sludgy and starkly nihilistic take on noise rock.

Channeling everything from the oppressive sludgy beat downs of Godflesh, the vulgar absurdity of The Jesus Lizard, and the rebellious, post-modern experimentation of Sonic Youth, the works of Chat Pile are bleak, brutal, and genuinely terrifying.

Few bands have a level of self-understanding as Chat Pile. Despite the infancy of the project, Chat Pile continues to be a standout among the sea of D.I.Y. music projects to come out in recent memory.

Their brand of crass, crushing, and poignantly cynical noise rock fills an otherwise unaccounted for the niche in today’s underground music landscape.